Board Members

The Board of Management not only reflects the interests of the communities in which we work, but also possesses the essential specialised skills and necessary experience required to run, monitor and control the affairs of the Association and to drive it forward.

To ensure that adequate internal control mechanisms are in place, monitored and reviewed regularly, the Board of Management has established an Audit and Risk Committee.

The Board meet regularly to agree the strategic direction of Estuary Housing Association. If you would like to see when the Board are next meeting and would like to come along to observe a Board meeting, please look at our events calendar. Residents may request a copy of the latest Board minutes or minutes of a previous meeting, please call the Company Secretary on 0300 304 5000.

Our Selection and Allocation of Board Members Policy and Procedure.pdf (4.410MB) Adobe Acrobat File explains the way in which people are selected for Estuary's Board and the process that takes place to allow this to happen.

Remuneration 2020-21 - Members of the Board and Chief Executive

Chair of the Board - George Kieffer

George Kieffer - Chair of the Board

Chair of the Board of Estuary Housing Association.
Director of Accession Homes Ltd and Estuary Homes Design Ltd.
Member of the Investment, Audit and Risk Committee, Corporate Health and Remuneration Sub-Committee and Services Committee.
Joined the Association in 2014.
George has a banking and commercial background and is an experienced non-executive who has worked in both the private and public sector.

Director, Snowville UK Ltd
Chairman, Haven Gateway Partnership
Member, University of Essex Enterprise Board
Member, University of Essex Industrial Advisory Board
Trustee, William Reason Hough Benevolent Fund

Chief Executive - Ian Martin MBA, FCIH, FCMI, FRSA

Ian Martin Member of the Board of Management.
Director of Accession Homes Ltd and Estuary Homes Design Ltd.

Approaching 40 years of experience in the housing sector and joined Estuary Housing Association in 2012.

Member of the National Housing Federation’s East Region Sounding Board and Member of Build East developers’ group.

Chief Financial Officer - Michael Hadjimichael ACMA, CGMA, BSc (Hons)

Michael Hadjimichael

Member of the Board of Management.

Director of Accession Homes Ltd and Estuary Homes Design Ltd.

Joined the Association in 2018, having worked in the housing sector since 2006.

He is a Chartered Management Accountant (CIMA) and has an Honours Degree in Economics and Accounting.

Richard Bint MA (Hons)

Richard BintMember of the Board of Management and Audit and Risk Committee.

Richard has a finance and accountancy background, formerly Chairman of PKF(UK)LLP and an experienced non-executive. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant.

Joined the Association in 2016 and his portfolio includes Chair of Audit and Risk Committee and Board Member for Harwich Haven Authority. Richard is also Vice-Chairman of the Audit Committee of the ICAEW.

Richard is an Independent Governor and incoming Chair of the Audit Committee for Havering Sixth Form College.

Janis Gibson CMIPR

Janis GibsonMember of the Board of Management, Care and Support Committee and Services Committee.

Joined the Association in 2016. 

Janis is currently Chief Executive Officer of Castle Point Association of Voluntary Services (CAVS) and is a Lay Member of Southend NHS Clinical Commissioning Group, responsible for public and patient engagement in the borough of Southend.

Janis has a background in financial services, business development, marketing and communications. She has also held Trustee, Board and Committee Member roles.

David Holmes BA (Hons), CIPFA, CMgr FCMI

David Holmes

Member of the Board of Management, Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee.

Chair of Audit and Risk Committee.

Joined the Association in 2012.

David is currently a Director for Writtle University College. David has previous Board and Committee experience, being a member of Board and Audit and Finance Committee at Swan Housing Group, between 2007 and 2009.

Paul Kingston MA, FCIH, MCMI, DMS

Paul Kingston

Member of the Board of management, Remuneration and Nominations committee.

Chair of Care and Support and Services committees

Joined the Association in 2012.

Paul has worked in social housing for just over 40 years and was instrumental in establishing Orwell Housing Association's highly respected support and care service, which he led for 23 years.

He has also been a long serving member of the Chartered Institute of Housing's Eastern Regional Board including serving six years on CIH’s National Council.

Currently, Paul is a freelance social housing and care professional and regularly commentates on social housing and care policy issues.

Robert Nichols MBA BEng MARLA FNAEA

Philip Garnar

Member of the Board of Management.

Chair and Director of Estuary Homes Design Ltd.

Director of Accession Homes Ltd.

Robert has an entrepreneurial background in property and business. He has a Mechanical Engineering degree from UCL and an MBA from London Business School.

Having joined the Association in 2017 his portfolio includes CEO of Portico Property Limited and Board Member of a Property Tech Startup.

Richard Rowntree BSc (Hons), ACIB

Richard Rowntree

Member of the Board of Management.

Richard has a banking and financial background. He is currently the Managing Director of Mortgages at Paragon Bank and has extensive experience in mortgage retail banking. He has an honours degree in Financial Services and joined the Association in 2016.

Simone Russell

Simone Russell Member of the Board of Management, Care and Support Committee and Services Committee.

Joined the Association in 2018.

Simone is the Director for Housing and Communities at Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council and has worked within the housing sector for more than 20 years in various roles. She has also chaired the Chartered Institute of Housing's Eastern Board.

She is passionate about providing excellent services for residents, in homes that local people can really afford.