What is EYFS?

At Centre Place Nursery, all staff follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. 
This is a very important stage, as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. 
From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure. It should also support their development, care and learning needs. 
If you would like to find out more about the EYFS please visit: 

Learning and Development

While at nursery, observations will be made which will support your child’s healthy development and recorded in their learning journal

Staff and parents can make contributions towards their child’s learning journals and this a fantastic way to work in partnership between staff and yourselves. The nursery is using an electronic assessment tool called Tapestry. Tapestry allows parents to access their child’s learning journals using an app on their computer or phone. You can also help your child to learn at home, ask us for suggestions, or check our ideas for home learning page.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.

These are:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the world
  7. Expressive arts and design

Nursery Ofsted

The purpose of Ofsted inspections are to assure the government and parents that the quality of care is in accordance with the Statuary Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. It is also to ensure the nursery education for funded three and four year old children is of an acceptable quality. Our last inspection was 30th October 2014, where we were rated as Good
The full report can be found on the Ofsted website, or please ask us for a copy.
Highlights from the report included:

  • Children's communication and language skills are supported well, particularly those with identified speech and language delays and those who speak English as an additional language. This is because the quality of teaching is good
  • Children's learning is supported well when they play outdoors as all areas of learning are promoted as well outside as they are inside
  • Children are safeguarded effectively. Staff have a strong knowledge of the procedures and work closely with other agencies to fully promote children's welfare
  • The staff have very positive partnerships with parents and other professionals to support children in their daily lives
  • Children's transitions to school are managed well because staff closely liaise with teachers, to ensure children's ongoing needs are fully met.